Skip to content

Meat the Vegetarian

Just another WordPress.com site

If you live in Manhattan, you know what it like when some one suggests another borough – let alone Jersey.  The first thought in your head is, “UUUUUGHHHHHHHHHHH, REALLY?”  I am not even kidding.

If you do muster up the incredible amount of energy it takes to leave the finest borough in the ENTIRE world  (totally an objective opinion, of course), Jersey City isn’t a horrible way to go.  Now, hear me out – I know what you are thinking… Yes, I would choose to got to Jersey City over Brooklyn, at least occasionally.  (Although, the most visited “other borough” for me is the Bronx… GO YANKEES!!)  You also may be asking why I am treating Jersey City the same way I treat NYC’s other boroughs.  Simply, it is the same time and cost to get there.  Therefore, there is no difference to me.

We also went for a Lehigh Alumni Event – aka, to hang out with our friends, drink, and make spectacles of ourselves, all in the name of Lehigh.  (This event was also the source of the name tags… Great idea to give people name tags after 3 liters of beer.)

Anyway, Zeppelin Hall in Jersey City may be my favorite beer hall in the NYC area.  They have a ton of beers on tap, and for a liter of beer, it really isn’t that expensive.  I think the food is “meh”, but for meat eaters, I understand there is some great drunk munchies… like bratwurst… gross.

The after party took place at Barcade in Jersey City.  There are now a few Barcades… and I have actually been to the one in Brooklyn (I KNOW), but these bar-arcades are completely worth the intense travel.  (What is it, a 15 minute subway ride?)  This is the place to take the nerds in your life, so all of my friends LOVE it.  There is awesome beer on tap – including Bethlehem Brew Works Rude Elf!!  I mean, it was a Lehigh event, so I HAD to have some.  Also, Miss Pacman and Donkey Kong… IT WAS ON.  Until we had to take the Path home… UGH.

Interesting Links:
http://www.zeppelinhall.com/
http://barcadejerseycity.com/

Tags: , ,