Skip to content

Meat the Vegetarian

Just another WordPress.com site

Ahhh Hoboken, we meet (or should I say MEAT) again.  This battle started out ugly and finished on a hopeful note. 

Behold, My Dinner

Location: Piri Piri, Hoboken, NJ 

Difficulty: Impossible 

   

Price: Entres were $20 – $25.  But they did come with A TON of food (chips, rice, and veggies included). 

Meat-Eater: Portuguese BBQ.  Everyone else at the table left stuffed, filled with Chicken, Ribs, Sausage, Shrimp– you name it, they had it, as long as I couldn’t eat it.  I think everyone enjoyed their food.  The consensus was that the sauce was the best part, and the meat played second fiddle. 

Veggie: Plain salad soggy fries.  Whomp Whomp Whomp.  The salad was fresh, but the fries were… yuck.  We were going out after dinner, so Max suggested and I agreed, I needed a slice of pizza… 

Location:  Benny Tudino’s, Hoboken, NJ 

Difficulty: YAY 

Price: Holy Moly, $3 for a slice of pizza bigger than my face  (Seriously, Bigger than my FACE) 

I said, Bigger than my FACE

Meat-Eater/Veggie:  AWESOME.  I had a plain slice that could have fed a small village for a week.  I certainly could not eat it all.  It was delicious pizza.  The piece I had was fresh out of the oven; the line was never less than 10 people long, so I imagine everyone’s is fresh out of the oven.  The line moved super quick.  I just took my slice to go, so I have no idea what it is like to eat inside, but I absolutely want to find out.  This was a fantastic way to prepare for…. 

Location: Zeppelin Hall, Jersey City, NJ 

Difficulty:  We went for the Biergarten, so there was no problem 

Price: $12 for a liter of GOOD beer.  

Meat-Eater/Veggie:  There was food there, no one tried it, so I can’t tell you how it was.  The beer selection was awesome.  There was something for every one (there was no bud light, but if you didn’t want to be adventurous you could have a guinness or beck’s); if you had no idea what you were doing, they would make a suggestion and let you try a sample before you ordered.  Some of the beer our group of 10 people tried: Spaten Oktoberfest, Carlsberg, Czechvar, Abita Purple Haze, Hacker-Pschorr Hefeweisen, and Hofbrau Hefeweisen.  The seating was similar to the German Biergartens with long picnic-like tables that everyone shares.    This is certainly a cool place, and worth checking out.  

"Most Deadly" Drinking a Very Big Liter of Very Good Beer

Websites:
http://piripiribbq.com/
 Benny Tudino’s doesn’t have a website, but can be found on Yelp
http://www.zeppelinhall.com/

