Skip to content

Meat the Vegetarian

Just another WordPress.com site

You have No Idea just how good this Salad was.

This week, I had the opportunity to preview the food that my mom will have at her Labor Day Picnic.  The food at this picnic is going to be OUTSTANDING.  If you read back to the post about jersey tomatoes, you will sense a pattern.  This preview consisted of a New Jersey Salad.  Well, not all of it was from the dirty jers, but the star players definitely were.  

Location: My mom’s house in New Jersey  

Price:  Almost free, the beets and lettuce were gifts from my uncle’s garden  

Difficulty:  Uhh, my mom made the salad for me.  After making me food for my entire life, she gets it.  

Meat-Eater and Veggie: Max the Meat-Eater was out of the country, so it was just Meat-Eater Mom and I.  We both had the same salad.  It was easily the BEST salad I have ever had in my LIFE.  It started with butter leaf lettuce from my uncle’s garden.  I don’t know what he did, but this was the best lettuce I have ever had.  I didn’t know it was possible to want to eat a bowl of just lettuce– but I wanted to.  This is a case where nothing beats the fresh and organic veggies out of a back yard garden.  The only fertilizer of these veggies is good, old-fashioned cow and horse poop– completely organic.  On top of the lettuce, were beets.  My uncle gave my mom the beets with the stalks still on and everything.  She cleaned them up, boiled, and peeled them.  I love love love love loooooovvvveeee beets.  And these were the best ones I have ever had.  I couldn’t get over it.  Then my mom tossed some sweet new jersey corn and walnuts in, and finished the salad with goat cheese from…. Vermont.  (Not everything can come from the Garden State!)  It didn’t even need any dressing, but just for giggles we drizzled some balsamic vinegar.  If anyone, meat-eater or veggie, is going to have a salad, it should be this one.

