Skip to content

Meat the Vegetarian

Just another WordPress.com site

There are many things I love in my life, and the fact that Penelope is three steps away from my building probably makes the top ten.  I LOVE PENELOPE.  I have their number on speed dial– I could eat there every day: breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  The only downside to this place: everyone knows it is awesome, so there is always a wait.  Max and I typically eat at the bar or we pick up take out.  Every once in a while, we can catch it at a good time… except for brunch.  Just forget it.  This is a “Nose-Goes” for who has to change out of their pj’s to run down the street to get our order, because unless you go before 9 am, you will not get a table without waiting 45 minutes or more. 

Location: Penelope, 30th and Lex, NYC 

Price: Every item is about $9.  Eggs, $9; sandwich and fries: $9; glass of wine: $9.  The only thing that is somewhat expensive is their lobster roll ($20), but it is huge and you can see the lobster chunks, so in terms of lobster, not that expensive. 

Difficulty: As I have mentioned, I LOVE this place, and one of the reasons I fell in love is the selection; I HAVE CHOICES!! I have a lot of delicious items to choose from. 

Veggie Burger Salad, Even a Meat-Eater Loves

 

 

Meat-Eater: Totally happy.  Every meat-eater can find something they like.  The chicken meatball sandwich is a favorite option; everyone loves the lobster roll; the cheese steak special got very high marks.  Ironically, with all these choices, Max usually gets the veggie burger salad with two veggie burgers.  I agree, it is absolutely delicious, and possibly the best veggie burger I have ever eaten.  It is just interesting to me that this veggie burger is SOOOOO good, Max gives up chicken meatballs to have it. 

Veggie:  I am always in a pickle– I can never decide what I want.  I usually can narrow it down to two or three things, but it is typically resolved through eeney meeney miney mo.  Top choices for me (like Miss America, these are in no particular order): Mac and Cheese, Egg Salad Sandwich, Hummus and Avocado Sandwich, Warm Brie and Apple Sandwich, Grilled Three Cheese, and Spinach and Beet Salad.  The Hummus to start is AWESOME, as well.  They serve their Hummus with apples (and of course, pita and bread), which was new to me and I LOVE IT.  I love their fries and their salads are always fresh.  I never feel really gross when I leave there either– always full, but never that go-home-lay-on-the-couch-and-rub-your-tummy-while-moaning gross-full. 

MAC AND CHEESE, so so soooooo yummy

 

I will post again about their brunch.  It is SO GOOD, it deserves its own section.  

I can’t recommend this place enough.  Penelope is a laid back cafe-esk type joint, that focuses on making great comfort food with a fresh and healthy twist.  The staff is awesome, the price is right, and the food is so good, you won’t be able to walk past 30th and lex without fighting with yourself about whether or not you have the time for some food. 

LOVE LOVE LOVE: http://www.penelopenyc.com/

